SCF Honor Society Inducts New Members

(Bradenton, Fla., March 3, 2010) – State College of Florida, Manatee-Sarasota (SCF) Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society chapters Nu Zeta at SCF Bradenton and Alpha Mu Upsilon at SCF Venice recently inducted 152 new members. Members must have a 3.5 or higher grade point average (GPA) at induction and maintain a 3.25 GPA.

Special guests at SCF Bradenton’s Nu Zeta induction included SCF President Dr. Lars A. Hafner; Dr. Mike Mears, vice president of baccalaureate degree programs and SCF Bradenton provost; Dr. Bonnie Hesselberg, SCF Lakewood Ranch provost; David Nezelek, Nu Zeta adviser; Dr. Joni Pirnot, associate professor, mathematics; and Tim Hill II, student life adviser. The keynote speaker was Herb Frith, adjunct instructor, fine and performing arts, who was an SCF professor for many years.

Nu Zeta officers who participated in the ceremony were Rafael Ayala, president; Ashley Cranston, executive vice president; Zena Pirnot, vice president of scholarship; Becca Cook, vice president of leadership; Nellie Woodson, vice president of service; Laura Shade, vice president of fellowship; and Rachel Roach, recording officer. Roxanne McLeod, vice president of public relations, was sworn in as a new officer.

Alpha Mu Upsilon at SCF Venice recognized new honorary members Lynette O’Neill, academic division secretary, and Charlene Pratt, academic office assistant. Other special guests included Darlene Wedler-Johnson, SCF Venice provost; Dr. Bonnie Hesselberg, SCF Lakewood Ranch provost; Stephanie Cook, Alpha Mu Upsilon adviser; Sheri Chejlyk, associate professor, social and behavioral sciences; and Jeff Snyder, student activities adviser. Michaela Cerce, vice president of leadership of SCF’s Alpha Mu Upsilon chapter, was the student speaker.

In addition, Alpha Mu Upsilon officers sworn in were: Brian Miller, president; Jodi Johnson, vice president of scholarship; Kimberly Tomchinski, vice president of service; Taylor Meredith, vice president of public relations; Evan LaMar, vice president of communications.

To view a list of new PTK members in both chapters, click here.

Page Edit