SCF Recognizes Volunteers During National Volunteer Week

(Bradenton, Fla., April 28, 2010) — In celebration of National Volunteer Week , April 18-24, State College of Florida, Manatee-Sarasota (SCF) recognized volunteers for their 1, 918 hours of service to the college during award ceremonies at SCF Bradenton and SCF Venice.

Eight volunteers at SCF were honored with the President’s Volunteer Service Award for their service in 2009. The national award, created in 2003 to recognize volunteers for their valuable contribution, is granted based on number of service hours over a 12-month period or cumulative hours earned over the course of a lifetime.

Fredi Brown, cofounder of the Family Heritage House, received the highest honor, the President’s Call to Service Award, for dedicating more than 4,000 hours of service in her lifetime. Brown, a Bradenton native, also has been named in the African American National Biography among notable people including President Barack Obama, actor Denzel Washington and blues performer Bessie Smith. Click here to read more about Brown’s accomplishments.

In addition, SCF volunteers received the silver level award for 250-499 hours of service and the bronze level award for 100-249 hours of service throughout the year. Volunteers recognized were Barbara Jagielo, nursing department, silver; Norma Marie Dunwoody, Family Heritage House, bronze; Joann Hager, nursing department, bronze; Floyd Korth, Disability Resource Center, bronze; Calota Ward, Academic Resource Center, bronze; Paige LaBarr, bookstore, bronze; and Walter Nyziak, enrollment services, bronze.

Other SCF Bradenton volunteers are Ann Aaron, Patricia Armstrong, Kay Austin, Mary Blanton, Phyllis Brown, David Burks, Jazmin Camancho, Bonnie Caples, Patricia Costa, Beryl Crosby, Rowena Denis, Lionel Friedman, John James, Jessica LaCroix, Thomas Lehman, Carol Lynch, Helen Marr, Barbara McNally, Tom Montanus, Walter Nyziak, Lisa Odaffer, Theresa Phelps, Bill Pooley Heidi Pooley Jeanne Pouliot, Whitney Reshard, Enzo Saulle, Phyllis Sellers, Laura Shade, Patricia Shank, Larry Shumway, Diane Smith, Katie Steen, Rita Sullivan, DeLinda Webb, Mairyann Wrentmore and Kristina Zornig. Donna Duerwachter is a volunteer at SCF Lakewood Ranch.

SCF Venice volunteers are Jim Baker, Robin Blair, Marion Ehmann, Michael Galluccio, Mike Havrilla, Noonie Havrilla, Robert Hester, Sami Ishac, Leone Lehman, Ming Li, Mary Ann Martin, Olynes Perdomo, Carol Prichard, Ann Rehth and Carmino Spina.

Judy Wishart is SCF’s volunteer coordinator. Also participating in the awards ceremonies were SCF President Dr. Lars A. Hafner; Darlene Wedler Johnson, SCF Venice provost; and Timothy Langenback, director, business services and public safety.

SCF Volunteers
President's Volunteer Award recipients Calota Ward, Floyd Korth,
Joann Hager, SCF President Dr. Lars A. Hafner, Barbara Jagielo,
Judy Wishart, SCF volunteer coordinator, Norma Marie Dunwoody
and Fredi Brown.

Page Edit