SCF Honors Students Recognized

(Bradenton, Fla., May 6, 2010) — Members of the State College of Florida, Manatee-Sarasota (SCF) Spring 2010 graduating class and other students who excelled scholastically or through service to their college and community were recognized in Honors Convocation ceremonies held Friday, April 30, at SCF Bradenton and SCF Venice. Collegewide, award winners received $58,536 in scholarships or cash awards.

At SCF Bradenton, recipients of Beverly Beall and R. Kemp Riechmann Foundation scholarships were Anissa Billiter, Amber Lamar, Disma Saint-Fort and Annie Talbert. James Newman was an SCF Venice scholarship recipient.

Sixteen students received Raymond D. and Janet L. Cheydleur Educational Endowment Scholarship awards totaling $24,000. Students receiving awards included Roberto Acevedo, Grant Bailey, Bryce Bochran, Angela Bruno, Amanda Cornwell, Stephen Khanin, Hanna Latysheva, Francesca Lynch, Kristin Moricz, Bjorn Nagle, Zena Pirnot, Lissa Pulkin, Natalia Siwiec, Katelyn Studer, Jonathan Warnelo and Angela Young.

SCF Bradenton students who won SCF Image awards in recognition of their ability to overcome barriers to their success in college were Rafael Ayala, Roxanna McLeod, Zena Pirnot and Crystal Wilson. Image Award winners at SCF Venice were Stephanie Burr, David Edwards IV and Jay Foulk.

Other Awards

New awards this year include: Sarasota-Manatee Phi Beta Kappa Association Scholarship for $3,500 awarded to Daiana Lambrecht at SCF Venice and Natalie Dumbaugh Music Scholarship for $1,053 awarded to SCF Bradenton students Stephany France and Angela Garner.

Winners of $400 Wayne Gulbrandsen Academic Scholarship for Single Parents awards were Hayley Durham, Susan Gomez, Leslie Henry, Donna Hunter, Vicki Lorezca, Donna Jean McCall, Laura Shade and Casmere Thomas. Jill Wright was the award recipient at SCF Venice.

SCF Bradenton student Robin McKay received a $300 award for the Annual Art Exhibition Best in Show. She also won an outstanding student in art award in two-dimensional design. The following students also placed first in student art exhibition in the following categories: Valeana Stephens, drawing, painting and printmaking; Darcel Tinner, graphic design; Jenna Brussee, photography; Michelle Berg-Uhrman, pottery; and Leah Pearson, sculpture.

Other art exhibition winners at SCF Bradenton included James Gass, who won the $225 SCF President's Award and Charlotte Berno who received $225 as the winner of the Juror’s Award.

At SCF Venice, outstanding students in art who received first place in the following categories were Peter Sirangelo, drawing; Jill Wright, painting; Shannon Whitmarsh-Fishburn, photography; Renna Quinn, graphic design; Glenna Dame, ceramics; and Evan LaMar, sculpture. LaMar also won the $300 Peter and Mary Lou Vogt for Excellence in Studio Art award. Merit Award winners for art were Susan Beckner, Donovan Hettich and Ciera Lowery.

Dental Hygiene award recipients were: Sarah Mocanto, Colgate Student Total Achievement Recognition Award; Nataliaya Melnik, Hu Friedy Golden Scaler Award; Michelle Battaile, Patient Education Award; and Karen Kutt, Academic Excellence Award.

Other community awards included the Book Scholarship Award from the Rotary Club of North Port and eight Warm Mineral Springs awards.

Click on the links for other Departmental Honors and Community Awards: SCF Bradenton   SCF Venice.

Bradenton Honors Convocation

Flash or other media object.

Venice Honors Convocation

Flash or other media object.


Page Edit