SCF Athletes Score Academic and Athletic Honors

(Bradenton, Fla., October 20, 2010) — State College of Florida, Manatee-Sarasota (SCF) athletes scored academic and athletic honors in 2009-10.

Twenty-three are on the FCCAA Academic All-State team (3.3 GPA or above). Thirty earned Suncoast Academic All-Conference honors (minimum 3.0 GPA).

SCF Manatees baseball team won the Suncoast Conference Championship and FCCAA/NJCAA Gulf District State Tournament. The state championship is SCF’s 13th state title and Head Baseball Coach Tim Hill’s sixth state title. Hill was named FCCAA/NJCAA Gulf District Coach of the Year and awarded the 2010 College Coach of the Year by the Florida Diamond Club at the Florida Diamond Club Showcase founded by professional baseball scouts in 1972.

SCF Baseball pitchers Alex Burgos and Josh Lucus were drafted to major league baseball teams Detroit Tigers and St. Louis Cardinals, respectively.

Burgos, a decorated pitcher, earned many accolades in the 2010 season including FCCAA All-Tournament Most Outstanding Pitcher and FCCAA All-State First-Team Pitcher; FCCAA All-Tournament Team; Suncoast Conference First-Team Pitcher; and Suncoast Conference Pitcher of the Year.

Other baseball players earning athletic honors include: Austin Chubb, FCCAA All-Tournament Team and Suncoast All-Conference First-Team Catcher; Paul Stortini, FCCAA All-Tournament Team and Suncoast All-Conference Second-Team Outfielder; Bobby Dixon, FCCAA All-State Fireman of the Year and Suncoast Conference Fireman of the Year; B.J. Zimmerman, FCCAA All-Tournament Team; Hunter Ovens, Suncoast All-Conference First-Team Outfielder.

SCF Manatees softball team won the Suncoast Conference Championship and placed second in the FCCAA/NJCCAA Gulf District State Tournament.

SCF softball honors include: Kayla Gabel, FCCAA 2010 All-Gulf District Tournament Team, FCCAA All-Tournament Team and Suncoast Conference Second-Team; Kayla Ellingsen, FCCAA 2010 All-Gulf District Tournament Team, 2010 SCF Softball Most Valuable Player and 2010 Suncoast Conference All-Conference First-Team; Kelsey Maffucci, FCCAA 2010 All-Gulf District Tournament Team and 2010 Suncoast All-Conference First-Team; Latece Luther, FCCAA 2010 All-Gulf District Tournament Team, 2010 FCCAA All Tournament Team, 2010 Suncoast All-Conference First-Team, 2009 All-State First-Team and 2009 Suncoast All-Conference First-Team; Randi Grimes, Suncoast All-Conference First-Team Infield; Maureen Sandidge, Suncoast All-Conference First-Team Infield; Stephanie Jurergens, Suncoast All-Conference Second-Team Outfield; and Holly Reandy, Suncoast All-Conference Second-Team.

Other SCF students earning athletic honors in the 2009-10 academic year include: Suncoast All Conference basketball players Tim Plummer, Valentine Rogatkin, Jonathan Miller, Markee Teal, Derek Robbins, Jamaine Watson and volleyball players Abigaail Gaiotte, Aurora Newgard, Emily Strack and Lacey Blackman.

Page Edit