SCF Honors Students Recognized

(Bradenton, Fla., May 6, 2011) — Members of the State College of Florida, Manatee-Sarasota (SCF) Spring 2011 graduating class and other students who excelled scholastically or through service to their college and community were recognized in Honors Convocation ceremonies held Friday, April 29, at SCF Bradenton and SCF Venice. Collegewide, award winners received $37,550 in scholarships or cash awards.

Seventeen students received Raymond D. and Janet L. Cheydleur Educational Endowment Scholarship. Students receiving awards included Arias Mileydis, Sadie Bellantonio, Michael Cardenas, Peter Caruso, Benito Gonzales, Nicole Greenland, Anton Koshkarev, Justin Lotz, Ewa Luna, Adam Machado, Davan McLain, Shirley Parrado, Sunitha Rao, Fiorella Salazar, Jessica Tran, Amy Williams, Angela Williamson. Ray Cheydleur was a former college professor.

SCF Bradenton student Derek Wallace was the recipient of the Sarasota-Manatee Phi Beta Kappa Association Scholarship up to $3,500. SCF Venice student Jodi Johnson received a $1,500 scholarship for being named a Coca-Cola Community College Academic Team Gold Scholar. Johnson was also named a Phi Theta Kappa All-Florida Academic Team member with SCF Bradenton students Paul Cajka and Chloe-Ann Marshman.

SCF Venice students who won SCF Image awards in recognition of their ability to overcome barriers to their success in college were Graig Bitler and Jodi Johnson. Click here to read the release.

Other Awards

New awards include the Model United Nations Team Award given to Paul Cajka, Matthew Corkery, Robin Cooper, Lori Dann and Nadia Kashitskaya. Click here to read the press release.

Paul Cajka also was named Brain Bowl Team Player of the Year. Other outstanding Brain Bowl Team members recognized were Valerie Dale, Kenneth Holmlund, Chloe-Ann Marshman and Chelsea Myles-McBurney

Winners of $400 Wayne Gulbrandsen Academic Scholarship for Single Parents awards were Timothy Barnes, Laura Beth Blanchard, Jasper Masciocchi, Charity Thompson, Magdalena Toporowicz and Danielle Janney at SCF Bradenton and Elicia Black, Melissa Rivest and Holly St. John at SCF Venice.

Phi Beta Lambda officers and team members recognized were Ethel Abel, Kerri Tindall, Doug Huber, Ashley Darr, Barbara Henry, Brian Abel and Machell Bundy.

Mathematics Olympic Team members recognized at SCF Bradenton were Joseph Comer, Everton De Assis Pinto, Brenan Flint, Marthyna Hanrat, Thomas Haugh, Stuart Lathrop, Hanna Latysheva, Jian Hao Li, Andrew Moffat, Anthony Salain, Robert Shollar, Bradley Trotter.

Mu Theta Service Award winners were Stuart Lathrop, Jian Hao, Debra McCarthy and Robert Shollar.

SCF Bradenton students Dianne Vona won Best in Show and Tom Moser received the SCF President’s Award at SCF’s annual Art Student Exhibition. Other SCF Bradenton students recognized for first place were Amy Hoffarth, graphic design, Jeffrey Hansen, two-dimensional design, Donovan Hettich, three-dimensional and Devin Lemke, photography. SCF Venice first place winners were Kerstyn Hearth, graphic design; Jonathan Barratt, two-dimensional design; and Tiffany Apostolou, three-dimensional design. Click here for additional winners.

Dental Hygiene Program award recipients were Christina Graber, Patient Education Award; Shannon Aitken, Colgate Student Total Achievement Recognition Award and Academic Achievement Award; and Jeffa Lloyd-Jones, Hu Friedy Golden Scaler Award for Clinical Excellence. Click here to read press release.

Other community awards included the Florida Water Color Society Scholarship for $1,000 awarded to Danielle Jannney; the Natalie Dumbaugh Music Scholarship to Ethan Howland and Jessica Tilicky; the 2011 Book Scholarship from the Rotary Club of North Port for $250 to Gina Eairheart and Shalaine Rowe; the Peter and Mary Lou Vogt for Excellence in Studio Art for $300 to Wendy Felix; and the Katherine Sherin Zauner Excellence in Speech to Dena Obney.

SCF Bradenton Honors Convocation

Download any of these photos.
Flash or other media object.

SCF Venice Honors Convocation

Download any of these photos.
Flash or other media object.


Page Edit