Studio Art Scholarship Winners Named at SCF

(Bradenton, Fla., August 26, 2011) — State College of Florida, Manatee-Sarasota (SCF) has announced 2011 Studio Art Scholarship winners.

Incoming freshman Gabriella Lopez and Kyle Rice were selected as the recipients of the SCF Studio Art Scholarship after participating in the Sarasota County High School Art Exhibition, which was judged by Jamie Tracy, SCF assistant professor, fine and performing arts. Winners received a full scholarship for the 2011-2012 academic year.

Returning SCF students Jennifer Husek, Kaitlin McDaniel, Jeffery Hansen, and Matthew Tornai received a one-semester scholarship for their portfolios and written artist statements that were submitted to a committee, which determined the winners. Students also will work six hours per week in one of the following SCF venues: Two-dimensional Design Studio, Ceramics Studio, Fine Art Gallery, or Photography Suite.

Winners’ artwork will be displayed in the SCF Student Art Show during an opening reception held from 6 – 8 p.m., April 13, in SCF Fine Art Gallery, building 11 North. The exhibit will run from April 13 - May 2, Monday – Friday, 10 a.m. – 3 p.m.

For more information on the Fine Arts Program, visit

Page Edit