MicroG Manatees Team Recognized by SCF District Board of Trustees

(Bradenton, Fla., September 6, 2011) — State College of Florida, Manatee-Sarasota (SCF) District Board of Trustees recognized SCF’s MicroG Manatees Team Advisor  Dr. Karen Wetz, Team Leader James Mohan and Team Member Mario Osborn for participating in NASA’s Reduced Gravity Education Flight Program (RGEFP) at Johnson Space Center’s Ellington Field in Houston from June 16 – 25.

The MicroG Manatees Team members tested their self-designed and constructed experiment, “Magnetic Forces between Dipoles in Microgravity,” on board NASA’s gravity-defying aircraft, “Weightless Wonder.” The microgravity aircraft produces periods of weightlessness lasting 18 to 25 seconds by flying a series of about 30 parabolas – a steep climb followed by a free fall – over the Gulf of Mexico.

Other team members, Joe Comer, Alexa La Motte, Brenan Flint, Harrison Brit, also participated in the program, which gives teams of undergraduate students nationwide the opportunity to propose, design, build, fly and evaluate a reduced gravity experiment. The MicroG Manatees Team was selected from more than 70 proposals based on scientific merit and education outreach potential.

“This experience surpassed my highest expectations. I’m proud to be one of the first SCF team of students to participate in NASA’s Reduced Gravity Education Flight Program. I thank SCF for providing the funds and supporting us and doing everything they did to get us there,” Mohan said.

Click here to view video.

MicroG Manatees Team
SCF President Dr. Lars A. Hafner, Mario Osborn, MicroG Manatees Team member,
James Mohan, team leader, and Dr. Karen Wetz, faculty team adviser.


Page Edit