SCF Honors Students Recognized

(Bradenton, Fla., May 5, 2012) — Members of the State College of Florida, Manatee-Sarasota (SCF) Spring 2012 graduating class and other students who excelled scholastically or through service to their college and community were recognized in Honors Convocation ceremonies held Friday, April 27, at SCF Bradenton and SCF Venice. Collegewide award winners received $13,690 in scholarships or cash awards.

Thirteen students received the Raymond D. and Janet L. Cheydleur Educational Endowment Scholarship. Students receiving awards included Janan Abraham, Jamila Ali, Maritza Castillo, Isabel Crowder, Matthew Faller, Jacci Ferrantino, Molly Gomez, Adriana Lugo, Bridget Mahoney, Nicole Pascarella, Kaitlin Ritz, Leesha Teegardin and Kacy Wennberg. Ray Cheydleur was a former college professor.

Dillon Clancy was awarded the Sarasota-Manatee Phi Beta Kappa Association Scholarship for $3,500 at SCF Venice. SCF Bradenton student Marrion Ramdass received the Phi Theta Kappa All-Florida Academic Scholar Award.

Students who received SCF Image awards in recognition of their ability to overcome barriers to their success in college were Allisa Joseph, Steven Stinson and James Thomson at SCF Venice and Ingrid Cabrera, Antoinette Davis, DeLeon Jelks and Danielle O'Neil at SCF Bradenton.

Other Awards

Model United Nations Team Awards were given to Madison Chapman, Anton Koshkarev, Ximena Marquez Gonzaleaz, Christina Mascitto, Jerry Pippins and Evans Rimel.

Mandy Foster and Ariel Watsky were named Brain Bowl Rookie of the Year, and Amanda Fleet was named Brain Bowl Team Player of the Year.

Paralegal students also were honored including Lisa Ellis, Professor's Recognition of Excellence in Legal Research and Writing; Sara Alva, Professor's Outstanding Advanced Technical Certificate Student in Paralegal/Legal Assisting; Julie Wise, Professor's Outstanding Associate in Applied Science; and Mary Taylor, Professor's Outstanding Leadership in Paralegal/Legal Assisting. Ellis also was recognized for winning the American Association for Paralegal Educator's annual legal research and writing competition. She received a $500 scholarship for her research paper on First Amendment rights. Her article will appear in an upcoming edition of Educator magazine.

Winners of $400 Wayne Gulbrandsen Academic Scholarship for Single Parents awards were Nathalie Barr, Lynette Dygert, John Lopez III, Jessica Moore, Margaretta Williams and Christina Massa.

Phi Beta Lambda officers and team members recognized were Ethel Abel, Brian Abel, Kerri Tindall, Elizabeth Lopez and Machell Bundy.

Mathematics Olympic Team members recognized at SCF Bradenton were Julia Backlund, Matthew Carr, Andrei Laptseu, Lauren Little, Emre Ozenger, Robert Shollar, Michael Stevens, Bradley Trotter and Ian Upson.

Mu Theta Service Award winners were SCF Bradenton students Matthew Carr, Emre Ozenger, Robert Shollar and Bradley Trotter.

SCF Bradenton students Elliott Stiner won Best in Show, Chris Blond received the SCF President's Award and Kaitlin McDaniel won the Juror's Award at 2011-2012 Student Art Exhibition. Other SCF Bradenton students recognized for first place were Pam Moses, graphic design, Christopher Rees, two-dimensional design, Sarah Berman, three-dimensional design and Randy Burton, photography. SCF Venice student William Volz received a $300 scholarship for the Peter and Mary Lou Vogt for Excellence in Studio Art Award.

Dental Hygiene Program award recipients were Jessica Price, Academic Achievement Award; Elizabeth Rode, Patient Education Award; Ivana Varga, Hu Friedy Golden Scaler Award for Clinical Excellence; and Jacqueline MacPherson, Colgate Student Total Achievement Recognition Award.

Click here for Bradenton award winners.

Click here for Venice award winners.

SCF Bradenton Honors Convocation

Download any of these photos.

Flash or other media object.


SCF Venice Honors Convocation

Download any of these photos.

Flash or other media object.




Page Edit