SCF Mathematics Professor Altay Özgener Appointed to National Math Committee

(Bradenton, Fla., Oct. 3, 2017) — State College of Florida, Manatee-Sarasota (SCF) mathematics professor, Altay Özgener has been appointed to the Halmos-Ford Award Committee of the Mathematical Association of America (MAA). Özgener, also current president of the Florida Two-Year College Mathematics Association (FTYCMA), begins a four-year term on April 1, 2018.

The Halmos-Lester Award recognizes articles of expository excellence published in The American Mathematical Monthly. Authors of four papers published during the prior year receive $1,000 during MAA’s Math-Fest events. In addition to selecting winners, the committee also writes the accompanying citations.

To view more information about the awards, visit

To find out more about MAA or FTYCMA contact Professor Özgener at

Page Edit