Students in SCF’s College Reach-Out Program Recognized

(Bradenton, Fla., May 28, 2019) State College of Florida, Manatee-Sarasota (SCF) honored graduating seniors from area high schools and other students in the College Reach-Out Program (CROP) at the 21st annual CROP Awards ceremony at SCF’s Neel Performing Arts Center.

As a preview to the April 30 event, Jessica Torsell, special programs retention specialist, and Barbara Noda, an SCF film student, produced a video highlighting the year’s events and students’ goals. Jaquelyn McNeil, SCF dean of students and Title IX coordinator, welcomed students and their families, and CROP alumni and SCF students Jefferson Brinvert and Yesica Lopez-Cabrera were the featured speakers.

Laura Roberts, Mistress of Ceremonies for the program and college and career advisor, Southeast High School, introduced the site coordinators, who gave school presentations and announced Students of the Year.

CROP Students of the Year, listed by school, are:

Bayshore High School

Jefferson Dor

Booker High School

Danielle Smith

Lee Middle School

Amajai Kirksey

Palmetto High School

Melvin Calhoun

Riverview High School

Destiny Hugine

Southeast High School

Catelaine Laguerre

Other Participants

Antonio Resendiz II

CROP site coordinators from participating schools are Dwight Gilmer from Bayshore High School; Lem Andrews from Booker High School; Keenan Wooten from Lee Middle School; Rui Fernandes from Palmetto High School; Tommie Wheeler from Riverview High School; and Laura Roberts from Southeast High School.

CROP, a statewide program funded through a grant from the Florida Department of Education, is designed to increase the number of students who successfully complete postsecondary education.

Of the 41 seniors in this year’s program, 34 plan to continue their education, and two will join the military. Eighteen will start college in June through SCF’s Summer Bridge Program. The seniors have qualified to each receive $1,000 scholarships to attend SCF in the summer. CROP graduates who attend SCF also are eligible to receive tuition and book scholarships.

For more information, contact Kristen L. Anderson, director of special programs at SCF, at

SCF 2019 CROP Awards

Pictured: Gary Tibbetts, representing congressman Vern Buchanan; Students of the Year, Jefferson Dor, Bayshore High School; Catelaine Laguerre, Southeast High School; Melvin Calhoun, Palmetto High School; Destiny Hugine, Riverview High School; and SCF Special Programs Director, Dr. Kristin Anderson.

Page Edit