SCF Recognizes Volunteers During National Volunteer Week

(Bradenton, Fla., May 1, 2013) — In celebration of National Volunteer Week, April 21-27, State College of Florida, Manatee-Sarasota (SCF) recognized 62 volunteers for their 7,544 hours of service to the college in 2012 during award ceremonies at SCF Bradenton on April 23 and SCF Venice on April 24.

Sixteen volunteers at SCF were honored with the President's Volunteer Service Award for their service in 2012. The national award, created by the White House in 2003 to recognize volunteers for their valuable contribution, is granted based on number of service hours over a 12-month period or cumulative hours earned over the course of a lifetime.

Volunteers received the gold-level award for 500 or more hours of service, the silver-level award for 250-499 hours of service, and the bronze-level award for 100-249 hours of service throughout the year.

SCF provides volunteers opportunities to assist students with activities such as tutoring, organizing the music library, helping students in The SCF Store and assisting with patient simulations, library services and testing.

Volunteers recognized with gold-level awards were Keith Briard, Norma Marie Dunwoody, Joe Collis, Diana Cubberly, Emre Özgener, Steven Short and Margery Smith. Silver-level recipients were Tammy Durst, Linda Hubler, Jeanne Pouliot, and Gary Rook, and bronze-level recipients were Ryan Drendel, Patricia Fischer, April Sheffield, Mike Smith, Rosemarie Sulzbach and Joel William.

Other SCF Bradenton and SCF Lakewood Ranch volunteers are Barbara Bean, Matilda Bediako, Fredi Brown, Patricia Costa, Gail Crago, Kathleen Drendel, Ryan Drendal, Norma Marie Dunwoody, Matt Durst, Danielle Dygert, Patricia Fischer, Kathleen Goerg, Joann Hager, Barbara Jagielo, Anita James, John James, Floyd Korth, Joni Liberty, Alexander Lobeto, Carol Lynch, Gary MacDonald, Eric Micallef, Andrea Motino, Mary Ann Murbach, Joan Murphy, Tania Nino, Carol Palmer, Marrion Ramdass, Mady Riebe, Juan Rosabal, Anamaria Sacieru, Enzo Saulle, Kathlene Scherz, Phyllis Sellers, Mike Smith, Donna Spielberger, Marnie Starbuck, Christine Tierney, Calota Ward and Brittany Wilkinson.

Other Venice volunteers include Connie Ellis, Art Friedel, Michael Galluccio, Rodger Kless, Anne LaRoche, Bill Moran, Beki Norman, Steven Short, Margery Smith and Rosemarie Sulzbach, Timothy Tiches, Dennis VandenBrink and Kristiana Zornig.

Judy Wishart is SCF's volunteer coordinator. Also participating in the awards ceremonies were SCF President Dr. Carol F. Probstfeld, SCF Vice President of Baccalaureate Programs Dr. Mike Mears and SCF Venice Provost Darlene Wedler-Johnson.

Volunteer days and hours vary with each opportunity. For more information, contact Judy Wishart, volunteer coordinator, at 941-752-5208 or Visit

Bradenton Volunteers

SCF volunteers Diana Cubberly and Linda Hubler with Judy Wishart, SCF volunteer
coordinator, and SCF volunteers Emre Özgener, Tammy Durst and Keith Briard

Venice Volunteers

SCF Volunteer Coordinator Judy Wishart, SCF Volunteer Rosemarie Sulzbach,
SCF President Dr. Carol F. Probstfeld, SCF Venice Volunteer Margery Smith
and SCF Venice Provost Darlene Wedler-Johnson

Page Edit