SCF Students Recognized at 2013 Honors Convocation

(Bradenton, Fla., May 3, 2013) — Members of the State College of Florida, Manatee-Sarasota (SCF) Spring 2013 graduating class and other students who excelled scholastically or through service to their college and community were recognized at Honors Convocation ceremonies held Friday, April 26, at SCF Bradenton and SCF Venice. Collegewide award winners received $32,550 in scholarships or cash awards.

Sixteen students receiving the Raymond D. and Janet L. Cheydleur Educational Endowment Scholarship included Andrew Biza, Mary Fuller, Tanner Hawksford, Jessica Hughes, Alena Korbut, Charity Miller, Andrea Motino Oyuela, Katerina Pluhacek, Elizabeth Ramos, Casey Rich, Kaitlin Ritz, Maximiliano Ronda, Daniel Rosabal, Nikki Ruhl, Melissa Scheufler and Tracy Silver Smith. Ray Cheydleur was a former college professor.

Charles Burns was awarded the Sarasota-Manatee Phi Beta Kappa Association Scholarship at SCF Venice. SCF Venice student Lidia O’Shields received the Phi Theta Kappa All-Florida Academic First Team Award. At SCF Bradenton, All-Florida Academic First Team Award recipients were Christine Gambino and Madeline Heath.

Students who received SCF Image awards in recognition of their ability to overcome barriers to their success in college were Austin Detra, Nara Fernandez and Lidia O’Shields at SCF Venice and Louguens Charles, Dylan Courtney, Claudia Meilan and Jeff Webb at SCF Bradenton.

Other Awards

Eric Erazo was named Brain Bowl Rookie of the Year, and Mandy Foster was named Brain Bowl Team Player of the Year. Brain Bowl team awards went to Naimul Chowdhury, Maria Manantan, Napolean Pompey, Abraham Sanchez, Ariel Watsky, Jose Yantes and Lisabeth Zuniga.

Dental Hygiene Program award recipients at SCF Bradenton were Danielle McKanna, Academic Achievement Award and Patient Education Award and Monica Perez, Colgate Student Total Achievement Recognition Award. Adrian Samantha was the recipient of the Hu Friedy Golden Scaler Award.

SCF Bradenton paralegal students also were honored including Stephen Rush, Outstanding Legal Research and Writing Student; Jodi Bell, Outstanding Associate in Science (A.S.) Student in Paralegal/Legal Assisting; Destine Davis, Outstanding Associate in Applied Science (A.A.S.) Student in Paralegal/Legal Assisting; Salvador Serbin, Outstanding A.S. Student in Paralegal/Legal Assisting; and Jeffery Robinson, Outstanding A.A. Student in Paralegal/Legal Assisting.

At SCF Venice, the following students also won paralegal awards: Diane Spinella, Outstanding Legal Research and Writing Student in Paralegal/Legal Assisting; Elicia Black, Outstanding A.A. Student in Paralegal/Legal Assisting; and Kathleen Hattie, Outstanding Advanced Technical Certificate Student in Paralegal/Legal Assisting.

Winners of the Wayne Gulbrandsen Academic Scholarship for Single Parents awards were Stephanie Donaldson, Tatiana Lebed, Elizabeth Rice and Christopher Stough at SCF Venice and Adina Bridges, Ana Rivera and Margaretta Williams at SCF Bradenton.

Phi Beta Lambda officers and team members recognized were Ethel Abel, Brian Abel, Jamie Johnson, Tatsing Yeung, JianChong Hu, Mary Ward and Lidia O’Shields.

Ze Xi Service Award recipients were Daniel Glazar, Andrei Laptseu and Emre Özgener.

Students who received the Mathematics Department Award in Developmental Mathematics were Carolyne DaSilva and Dustin Holley. Daniel Glazar won the Mathematics Department Memorial Award.

Mathematics Olympic Team members recognized at SCF Bradenton were Naimul Chowdhury, Alan Jackson, Andrei Laptseu, David Lendermon, Ryan Murphy, Nathaniel Musitano, Maximiliano Ronda, Daniel Vieira and Desong Xue.

Yajaira Uruza-Reyes, Chantal Varon, Christopher Rees and Sopheap Sok were SCF Studio Art Scholarship recipients. Amanda DiMase won the SCF Film Scholarship.

SCF Venice Student Art Exhibition included winners Susan Luck Perkins, recipient of the Juror's Choice Award for "Frankenberry," and first place winners in the following categories: Sunsearay McDaniel, "End of Day's Reflection," photography; Christopher Parisi, "Life of Pi," graphic design; Evan LaMar, "Sun Burst," two-dimensional design; and Elizabeth Ramos, "Dual," three-dimensional design. Ramos also received a scholarship for the Peter and Mary Lou Vogt for Excellence in Studio Art Award.

Click here for Bradenton honorees.

Click here for Venice honorees.


Flash or other media object.
Page Edit