Theatre Honorary Fraternity Presents Awards

(Bradenton, Fla., May 10, 2013) — The State College of Florida (SCF) chapter of Delta Psi Omega, the national theatre honorary fraternity for community colleges, held its 47th Annual Awards Banquet May 1 at SCF Bradenton.

Kenneth Erickson Jr., theatre program manager, presented the Max and Bernice Pepke Scholarship to SCF May graduates Sally FintandMadeline Heath. Fint also won the John and Joyce James Scholarship, and the Joseph P. Vona Scholarship was presented to continuing student Alexandra Cowan.

Dean Anthony, SCF assistant professor, presented nine awards for acting and technical achievement during the past season. For the third consecutive year, Fint was named Outstanding Leading Actress for her role in "Crimes of the Heart." This year, she shared the award with Heath who was Outstanding Leading Actress for her role in "Zara Spook and Other Lures."Cowan was named Most Promising Newcomer and received the award for Outstanding Actress in a Supporting Role for "Zara Spook and Other Lures."

Sean Darcywas honored with acting awards for his leading role in "The Diary of Anne Frank" and his supporting role in "Zara Spook and Other Lures." Sara Brownwas honored as Outstanding Ensemble Member for her multiple roles in "Story Theatre." Ryan FinzelberandCasey Rich received awards for Outstanding Technical Contributions.

James Thaggard, box office manager, also inducted eight students into the fraternity including Brown, Cowan, Darcy, Finzelber, Heath, Rich, Darian Canton and Conrad Lazo.

Also attending the ceremony were Dr. Mike Mears, vice president of baccalaureate programs and provost of SCF Bradenton; Ted Camp, retired department chair of fine and performing arts; and Craig Smith, production instructor.

DPO Theatre
SCF students Sean Darcy, Casey Rich, Sara Brown, Madeline Heath,
Sally Fint, Alexandra Cowan and Ryan Finzelber

Page Edit