SCF Honor Society Inducts New Members

(Bradenton, Fla., December 19, 2103) – State College of Florida, Manatee-Sarasota (SCF) Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society chapters Nu Zeta at SCF Bradenton and Alpha Mu Upsilon at SCF Venice inducted 134 new members this fall. Members must have a 3.5 or higher grade point average (GPA) at induction and maintain a 3.25 GPA.

SCF President Dr. Carol F. Probstfeld was a distinguished guest and keynote speaker at ceremonies held in Bradenton and Venice.

Nu Zeta at SCF Bradenton

Nu Zeta officers sworn in were Vida Biggins, president; Nathaniel Musitano, executive vice president; Marshall Hilborn, vice president of leadership; Priscilla Sosa, vice president of fellowship; Evans Rimel, vice president of scholarship; Melinda Campbell, vice president of service; Nathan Krafve, communications officer; Alexis Gregor, historian; Michelle Teeter; public relations officer;  Jourdan McKinnis, recording secretary; and Kyla Rousch, fundraising officer.

Ceremony participants at SCF Bradenton included Gary Russell, vice president of academic affairs; Dr. Donald R. Bowman, vice president of student affairs; Dr. Michael Mears, vice president of baccalaureate programs and SCF Bradenton provost; and Christopher Wardman, student life resource officer.

Special guests at the ceremony included language and literature faculty members Dr. Elizabeth Dowdy, Department Chair Dr. Jane Duke, Luci Frith, Ardee Mathey, Isera Miller and Cynthia Ross; mathematics faculty members Dr. Arumugum Muhundan, Kim Ghiselin, Altay Ozgener, Anna Wasilewska and Rebecca Williams; natural sciences faculty members Dr. Matthew Keirle, Jeff Laborda, Department Chair Jane Pfeilsticker,  Dr. Margery Roberston and Dr. Eric Warrick; Barry Puett, social and behavioral sciences department chair; and health professions faculty members Del Carr and Susan Donaldson.

Other special guests included Lynn Drees, associate vice president, student services; MariLynn Lewy, associate vice president of enrollment services; and Matthew Bowman, instructor and academic college adviser.

Janet Samuels, assistant professor, mathematics, is the adviser of the Nu Zeta chapter of PTK at SCF Bradenton.

Alpha Mu Upsilon at SCF Venice

Alpha Mu Upsilon officers sworn in were Corey Culbertson, president; Samuel Putzke, vice president of leadership; Olga Klippert-Blue, vice president of communications; Annielle Timmons, vice president of service; Lauren Gaudoury, vice president of scholarship; and Philann Prendergast, five star coordinator.

Coadvisers Kristen Zaborski,instructor, business and technology, and Michael Rogers, assistant professor, social and behavioral sciences, were recognized as new honorary members of the SCF Venice Alpha Mu Upsilon chapter of PTK.

Dr. Donald R. Bowman, vice president of student affairs, was a special guest at the Alpha Mu Upsilon ceremony. Ceremony participants included SCF Venice Provost Darlene Wedler-Johnson; John Waters, SCF Veniceprofessor and department chair, math, science, technology and business; andKristen Zaborski,instructor, business and technology, and Alpha Mu Upsilon adviser.

To view a list of new PTK members in both chapters, click here.

Page Edit