SCF Model UN Team Excels at Conference

Students Win Top Honors

(Bradenton, Fla., April 17, 2014) — For the third consecutive conference and fourth time in State College of Florida, Manatee-Sarasota's (SCF) history, the SCF Model United Nations team received Best Position Paper at the 2014 Charlotte Southern Regional Model United Nations (UN) Conference held April 10-12.  SCF also won the Honorable Mention Delegation Award for the third time. Both awards were for representing Italy.

For the second time in SCF's history, two students, Marshall Hillborn and Dennis Metz, who represented Italy in the General Assembly Plenary, received a perfect score on their position papers.

Four team members received individual Outstanding Delegate awards. Emily Goethe and Susan Ramsey-French received individual awards for representing Slovakia in the General Assembly First Committee, while Charles Keeler and Carlyle Styer received individual awards for representing Italy on the Commission on Crime Prevention and Criminal Justice. Fewer than 10 percent of conference attendees receive individual awards.

SCF's team was among the seven out of 55 delegations to be recognized for their position papers, which stated their assigned country's positions on specific issues, including maritime piracy, fraudulent medicines, the use of child soldiers and the illicit small arms trade.

Other SCF students who won awards included Eleanor Brink, Lisa Jiron and George Vasquez. SCF's team participated with 350 students on teams from more than 40 community and state colleges and universities.

Page Edit