SCF Recognizes Volunteers During National Volunteer Week

(Bradenton, Fla., April 16, 2014) —State College of Florida, Manatee-Sarasota (SCF) President Dr. Carol F. Probstfeld recognized 51 volunteers for their 4,200 hours of service in 2013 during award ceremonies at SCF Bradenton and SCF Venice in celebration of National Volunteer Week April 6-12.

Five volunteers at SCF were honored with the President's Volunteer Service Award for their service in 2013. The national award, created by the White House in 2003 to recognize volunteers for their valuable contribution, is granted based on number of service hours over a 12-month period or cumulative hours earned over the course of a lifetime.

Volunteers received the gold-level award for 500 or more hours of service, the silver-level award for 250-499 hours of service, and the bronze-level award for 100-249 hours of service throughout the year.

SCF provides volunteers opportunities to assist students with activities such as tutoring, organizing the music library, helping students in The SCF Store, and assisting with patient simulations, library services and testing.

Tania Nino received a gold-level award, and Beki Norman was recognized with a silver-level award. Rodger Kless, Kathleen Drendel and Anita James were bronze-level recipients.

Other SCF Bradenton and SCF Lakewood Ranch volunteers are David Arnison, Justin Besteman, Keith Briard, Fredi Brown, Patricia Costa, Diana Cubberly, Mike Smith, Matt Durst, Tammy Durst, Racheal Easton, Patricia Fischer, McKenzie Hanlon, Yuna Izumi, Barbara Jagielo, John James, Alicja Janson, Jackie Johnson, Stephanie Katz, Pat Kelly, Floyd Korth, Joni Liberty, Pat Lindekugel, Alexander Lobeto, Carol Lynch, Bob McDonnell, Dennis Metz, Dennis Morrow, Mary Ann Murbach, Joan Murphy, Mary Ann Noud, Carol Palmer, Andrea Parker, Jeanne Pouliot, Gary Rook, Janet Schroeder, Michelle Self, Phyllis Sellers, Pam Stewart, Clayton Taylor and Crystline Waldin.

Other SCF Venice volunteers include Jay Foulk, Michael Galluccio, Anne LaRoche, Rosemarie Sulzbach, Timothy Tiches, Dennis VandenBrink and Carol Vuono.

Page Edit