First SCF Collegiate School Class to Graduate May 1

(Bradenton, Fla., April 28, 2014) — The first State College of Florida Collegiate School (SCFCS) commencement ceremony will be held at 7 p.m. Thursday, May 1, at SCF Bradenton, 5840 26th St. W., in Neel Performing Arts Center, Building 11 East.

Fifty-seven graduates will earn a high school diploma from SCFCS and will be eligible to receive an associate degree from State College of Florida, Manatee-Sarasota (SCF).

SCFCS is an innovative, tuition-free public charter school with grades 6-12 at SCF Bradenton. It gives students an opportunity to earn simultaneously a high school diploma from SCFCS and an associate degree from SCF. A partnership with Florida Gulf Coast University (FGCU) provides a scholarship program for SCFCS graduates who have been accepted to FGCU to have the opportunity to earn a baccalaureate degree.

SCF President Dr. Carol F. Probstfeld will be the commencement speaker at SCFCS graduation. Student speakers will include Hannah Cantolino and Olivia Roemer.

Three awards will be presented to SCFCS students, including the Outstanding Graduate Award, which recognizes a student who has shown superior leadership, academic achievement and community service; the Graduate Appreciation Award, which recognizes a student who has been a dependable role model and constant professional with a willingness to serve others; and the Graduate Achievement Award, which recognizes a student who has demonstrated consistent growth inside and outside of the classroom while at SCFCS.

SCFCS students Aly Gonzalez and Hailey Newgard will sing the national anthem, and Cynthia Reynolds, SCF faculty member and the former SCFCS academic administrator, will serve as the macebearer in the ceremony.

SCF Collegiate School graduates are Jeffrey Antonino, Stephen Baker, John Baldwin, Alex Bernhard, Alyssa Bosch, Felicia Cannata, Hannah Cantolino, Miranda Carney, Zoe Celender, Summer Cherello, Shirlay Choute, Christina Cochran, Olivia Cohn-White, Cameron Cole, Arianna Dececco, Savannah Evers, Alexander Fyffe, Alexis Gregor, Walid Hmissa, Nicholas Holst, Claudia Hynds, Holly Jenkins, Lisa Jiron, Emma Jones, Sterline Joseph, Allison Joyner, Madeline Kaklis, Jason-Sai Kalathia, Kaitlyn Lade, Matthew Legac, Morgan Lynch, Dario Martinez, Jourdan McKinnis, Samantha Michel, Sydney Mitchell, Ryan Murphy, Andreas Niederer, Keeton Olson, Sophia Price, Nathan Robinson, Olivia Roemer, Tomas Rojas, Alexander Roman, Brittany Roosa, Jacob Sanchez, Jesse Schein, Luke Shackelford, Jacob Sprague, Tana Sulzener, Courtney Waer, Zachary Watson, Ashley Weems, Cheyenne Weems, Tamara Wertheim, Faith Williams, Nicole Williams and Natalie Wrightson.


Page Edit