SCF Math Faculty Members Administer ACES Competition

(Bradenton, Fla., April 30, 2014) — Faculty members from State College of Florida, Manatee-Sarasota’s (SCF) math department created, administered and graded examinations for the annual Math ACES competition for public and private high schools in Manatee and Sarasota counties held March 20.

Each school's top scorer will be recognized with a $150 award and a certificate at the school's senior awards assembly.

Winners of this year’s competition are Jorge Carrasco, Suncoast Polytechnical High School; Hunter Carrell, North Port High School; James Cramer, Riverview High School; Kyle Grosser, Manatee High School;  Nathaniel Folkins, Sarasota High School; Quinton Fitzgerald, Out-of-Door Academy; Daniel Kessler, Southeast High School; Daniel King, Venice High School; Nathan Marshall, Braden River High School; Savannah Savadel, Cardinal Mooney High School; David Segovia, Palmetto High School; Rebekah Johnson, Bradenton Christian School; Kaitlyn West, Lakewood Ranch High School; William Wickerson, Pineview High School; Wenjie Zhang, Saint Stephen’s Episcopal School.

The exam is sponsored by the American Society of Civil Engineers, the State College of Florida Foundation Inc., the American Public Works Association Sun Coast Branch, the Education Foundation of Sarasota County Inc. and the Sarasota Council of Teachers of Mathematics.

Page Edit