SCF Students Recognized at 2014 Honors Convocation

(Bradenton, Fla., May 1, 2014) — Members of the State College of Florida, Manatee-Sarasota (SCF) Spring 2014 graduating class and other students who excelled scholastically or through service to their college and community were recognized at Honors Convocation ceremonies held Friday, April 25, at SCF Bradenton and SCF Venice. Collegewide award winners received $27,850 in scholarships or cash awards.

Sixteen SCF Bradenton students receiving the Raymond D. and Janet L. Cheydleur Educational Endowment Scholarship included Alexis Brodil, Jayra Carrasquillo, Leneisha Cenac, Matthew Faller, MacKenzie Fish, Alfred Gonzalez, Keleigh Kaliher, Stephen Kelley, Rachel Kyte, Daniel O’Meara, Dennis Metz, Staline Petit-Homme, Carissa Pisano, Tracy Rose, Nicole Solorzano and Amanda Warner. Ray Cheydleur was a former college professor.

Winners of the Wayne Gulbrandsen Academic Scholarship for Single Parents awards were Amanda Norris at SCF Bradenton and Brittney Figiel at SCF Venice.

Students who received SCF Image awards in recognition of their ability to overcome barriers to their success in college were Sarah DiPaolo and Joshua Felthoff at SCF Venice and Dylan Courtney, Alexander Fyffe, Yakayra Mendez and Erin Philip at SCF Bradenton.

Other Awards

Jason Blunier and Maxim Lowe were named Brain Bowl Rookie of the Year, and Michael Moore was named Brain Bowl Team Player of the Year. Brain Bowl team awards went to Blunier, Moore, Lowe, Naimul Chowdhury, Xavier Colon, Eric Erazo, Emma Terry, Kara Stevens and Ariel Watsky.

Dental Hygiene Program award recipients at SCF Bradenton were Danielle Golden, Academic Achievement Award; Shaina Gormley, Patient Education Award; and Andrea McBride, Colgate Student Total Achievement Recognition Award. Donna Cruzan was the recipient of the Hu Friedy Golden Scaler Award.

SCF Bradenton paralegal students also were honored including Sabrina Swanson, Outstanding Legal Aid of Manasota Intern Award; Mary Jane Fuller, Outstanding Associate in Science (A.S.) Student in Paralegal/Legal Assisting; Pamlyn Taylor, Outstanding Associate in Applied Science (A.A.S.) Student in Paralegal/Legal Assisting; and Jorge Sanchez, Outstanding Advanced Technical Certificate Student in Paralegal/Legal Assisting.

At SCF Venice, the Heather Palmer won the Outstanding A.S. Student in Paralegal/Legal Assisting Award, and Andrew Selevitch won the Outstanding A.S. Student in Paralegal/Legal Assisting in Legal Research and Writing Student in Paralegal/Legal Assisting Award.

SCF Venice Phi Beta Lambda (PBL) officers and team members recognized were Jamie Johnson, president; Mary Ward, vice president; Tat Sing Yeung, secretary; Nicky Jones, treasurer; Victoria Paine, historian; Ethel Abel, parliamentarian; and Naomi Stiwich, reporter. Abel also is PBL Florida president.

Students who received the Mathematics Department Award in Developmental Mathematics were Juliana Abundez and Michael McNaught. Ryan Murphy won the Mathematics Department Memorial Award.

Mathematics Olympic Team members recognized at SCF Bradenton were Tommy Boucher, David Buchanan, Minecksonn Denis, Van Do, Charles Mathis, Miguel Montalvo, Kyle Romines, Andrew Thuan and Michelle Teeter.

SCF Studio Art Scholarship recipients were Alex Cordiner, Danielle Dygert, Jessie Hernandez, Danielle Hutchinson, Jamie Moriarty, Yajaira Urzua-Reyes and Jeffery Walling.

SCF Venice Student Art Exhibition winners included Breezi Paxton, recipient of the Best in Show award, and first-place winners in the following categories: Angel Blake, graphic design; Alexandra Johnson, photography; Priscilla Gonzalez, two-dimensional design; and Susan Luck-Perkins, three-dimensional design. Luck-Perkins also received a scholarship for the Peter and Mary Lou Vogt for Excellence in Studio Art Award.

SCF Venice graphic design technology students Kristine Herzog, Cameron McKinley and Sean O’Keefe also were recognized with first-, second- and third-place awards for designing T-shirts for Venice Area Beautification Inc.

Click here for a full list of Bradenton recipients.              

Click here for a full list of Venice recipients.

Flash or other media object. Flash or other media object.
Page Edit