SCF Winter 2014 Commencement to be Held Dec. 12

(Bradenton, Fla., December 3, 2014) — State College of Florida, Manatee-Sarasota (SCF) Winter 2014 commencement will be held at 7 p.m. Friday, Dec. 12, at the Bradenton Area Convention Center, 1 Haben Blvd., Palmetto.

Out of 598 students who are eligible for graduation, 222 graduates are expected to participate in the ceremony. This includes 164 associate degree graduates, 57 baccalaureate graduates and one certificate graduate.

The graduation speaker will be SCF alumnus John LaCivita, a lifelong Sarasota County resident and successful businessman who has invested in his community through philanthropy.

LaCivita is a respected leader who serves on various boards, including the Argus Foundation, Education Foundation of Sarasota County, Easter Seals Southwest Florida, Easter Seals Southwest Florida Foundation, Sarasota Ski-A-Rees and the Greater Sarasota Chamber of Commerce, where he was chair and an executive committee member of Leadership Sarasota.

He also is a graduate of Leadership Sarasota County 2004-05 and Leadership Florida Class XXVII, 2008-09. LaCivita received Leadership Sarasota’s Outstanding Leadership Award and was named a member of Gulf Coast Business Review’s “40 Under 40.”

He graduated with an Associate in Arts from SCF, then Manatee Community College, in 1988, and earned his Bachelor of Science in Building Construction from the University of Florida in 1991. He became a state certified general contractor in 1993.

The Outstanding Graduate Award will be presented to an associate-level student and a baccalaureate-level student who have shown superior leadership, academic achievement and community service while attending SCF.

Finalists for the Outstanding Associate Graduate Award are Summer DuBose, Bradenton; Mary Jane Fuller, Bradenton; Joni Liberty, Bradenton; Alex Masella, Venice; and Tracie Myers, Parrish.

Finalists for the Outstanding Baccalaureate Graduate Award are Ashley Ewing, Englewood, and Chris Laney, Sarasota. Click
here for OGA bios.

Funding for SCF's Outstanding Graduate Award is provided by the State College of Florida Foundation Inc.

Program participants will include SCF President Dr. Carol F. Probstfeld; Dr. Donald Bowman, vice president of student affairs; Gary Russell, vice president of academic affairs; Janet H. Samuels, assistant professor, mathematics; Kristen Zaborski, instructor, business and technology; and the Rev. Jennifer Potter and the Rev. Bryan O’Carroll, campus ministry.

The national anthem will be sung by the SCF Chamber Choir directed by Melodie Dickerson, SCF Music Program director, and the processional and recessional will be performed by the SCF Symphony Orchestra conducted by Robyn Bell, SCF director of instrumental studies.

Karyn Washington, an SCF alumna and manager of business operations, will serve as the macebearer in the ceremony. Washington will retire in February 2015 after 37 years of service to SCF.

Tickets are required and are available through graduating students. Maps and directions are online at

Page Edit