SCF Students Garner Awards at 2015 Honors Convocation

(Bradenton, Fla., May 7, 2015) — Members of the State College of Florida, Manatee-Sarasota (SCF) Spring 2015 graduating class and other students who excelled scholastically or through service to their college and community were recognized at Honors Convocation ceremonies held recently at SCF Bradenton and SCF Venice. Collegewide award winners received $28,000 in scholarships or cash awards.


Sixteen SCF Bradenton students received the Raymond D. and Janet L. Cheydleur Educational Endowment Scholarship. They included Jessie Boswell, Victor Clapper, Rebecca Dickman, Ashley Eickelmann, Matthew Faller, Kimberly Gibson, Mallory Giddens, Olivia Hull, Graham Marquette, Alexis Oakes, Melissa Rio, Guadalupe Romero, Tracy Rose, Jill Taylor, Reed Torine and Natalia Vera. Ray Cheydleur was a former college professor.

Winners of the Wayne Gulbrandsen Academic Scholarship for Single Parents awards were Maria Brigham, Jessica Campbell, Whitney Langston and Alesya Shevchuk at SCF Bradenton.

SCF President Dr. Carol F. Probstfeld presented national championship rings to Brain Bowl Fire Team members Naimul Chowdhury, Austin Goode, Leon Hostetler, Michael Moore, Kara Stevens and Carlyle Styer, along with team coaches Christina Dwyer and Hyun Kim.

Brain Bowl Team Rookie of the Year awards went to Adriana Souza and Carlyle Styer; Player of the Year awards went to Naimul Chowdhury, Leon Hostetler and Michael Moore. The Brain Bowl Team Player Emeritus was Ariel Watsky.

Brain Bowl Team members, who were presented with recognition awards for a successful season, were Naimul Chowdhury, Olivia Doronio, Quentin Ferring, Paul Foerster, Michael Freedman, Austin Goode, Leon Hostetler, Colton Kunzeman, Christopher Medrano-Berumen, Sarah McKenrick, Michael Moore, Sebastian Ospina, Adriana Souza, Kara Stevens, Carlyle Styer, Emily Waikem, Ariel Watsky, Jonathan Willman and Matthew Willman.

Students who received SCF Image awards in recognition of their ability to overcome barriers to their success in college were Naimul Chowdhury, Andres Gomez, Leon Hostetler, Michael Moore and Anthony Taing at SCF Bradenton.

Dental Hygiene Program award recipients at SCF Bradenton were Yuliya Gordiychuk, Academic Excellence Award; Brenda Salmeron, Patient Education Award; and Marlene Ramirez, Colgate Student Total Achievement Recognition Award and Lawton Chiles Service Award. Karen Rodriguez was the recipient of the Hu Friedy Golden Scaler Award.

Model United Nations Team Member awards were given to Jordan Foth, Charles Keeler, Anne Miller, Carolina Montes, Kristen Moreno, Matthew Ruch, Carlyle Styer and George Vasquez.

Mathematics Olympic Team Members recognized were Uni Chen, Naimul Chowdhury, Michael Freedman, Melinda Geisel, Meagen Hornberger, Leon Hostetler, Joseph Lepiscopo, Christopher Medrano-Berumen, Gerald Meyers, Adriana Souza, Ella Starr, Kyle Stone and Will Youmans.

Math Service Club awards were presented to Naimul Chowdhury, Leon Hostetler, Adriana Souza, Ella Starr, Kyle Stone, Zulfiia Tursunova and Conor Welch.

SCF Studio Art Scholarship recipients were Savannah Grimmer, Jessie Hernandez, Danielle Hutchinson, Katelyn Kennedy, Jamie Moriarty and Taylor Stilwell.

SCF Bradenton paralegal students also were honored, including Catherine Orejuela and Natasha Zipay, Outstanding Student in Legal Research and Writing; Ruth Taylor, Outstanding Associate in Science Student in Paralegal/Legal Assisting; and Linda Mergel, Outstanding Advanced Technical Certificate Student in Paralegal/Legal Assisting.

Emily Champagne received the Outstanding Freshman Music Student Award and Rebekah Johns won the Outstanding Returning Music Student Award. Other Outstanding Student Awards went to Ulyana Havorka, general chemistry; John Carter, biology; Dinah Pardon, organic chemistry; Leon Hostetler, physics; Sara van der Veken, biotechnology; Carlyle Styer, political science; Mary Meinberg, French I; Reagen Webb, French II; Danae Witte, Spanish IV; Maddison DeMartino-Ditmars, German I; Joseph Hingston, German II; Nikita Ladyzhelsky, speech; Dennis Quigley, literature; and Susan Frey, occupational therapy assistant. Other awards included Mathematics Department Award in Developmental Mathematics, Clayton Hanson and Brandon Russell; and Mathematics Department Memorial Award, Leon Hostetler.


SCF Venice students who received SCF Image awards in recognition of their ability to overcome barriers to their success in college were Kyle Kristiansen, Alexander Rosas, Brandy Smithey and Christopher Stough.

SCF Venice Phi Beta Lambda (PBL) officers and team members recognized were Naomi Stiwich, president; Mary Ward, vice president; Nicky Jones, secretary; Jenny Baird, historian; Ethel Abel, parliamentarian; and Alexis Jenkins, reporter.

Students excelled at the Future Business Leaders of America-Phi Beta Lambda (FBLA-PBL) state leadership conference. Miller earned first place in Business Presentation and Retail Management, and Naomi Stiwich earned second place in Impromptu Speaking, qualifying to compete in the 2015 FBLA-PBL National Leadership Conference held June 23-27 in Chicago. Students also will attend and participate in The Institute for Leaders “Time to Lead” workshops and seminars.

Abel was inducted into the FBLA-PBL Who’s Who in Florida PBL, and was awarded the highest Florida PBL award, the $2,500 Rob Kelleher Memorial Award, which is given to the student who best exemplifies the leadership, ideals and aspirations of Phi Beta Lambda. As the winner of this award, she becomes Florida’s candidate for the National Who’s Who in Phi Beta Lambda. She also was elected to run for the position of national secretary at the upcoming conference in June.

SCF Venice students Alexis Holsapple and Constanza Lanata-Gustaf were recognized as Phi Theta Kappa All-Florida Academic Team Scholars.

SCF Venice Student Art Exhibition winners included Pike Paxton, recipient of the Best in Show award, and first place winners in the following categories: Nolan Jones, graphic design; Jacqueline Armstrong, two-dimensional design; Deanna Martinez, three-dimensional design; and Marlon Orozco, photography. Rebekah Shupock received a scholarship for the Peter and Mary Lou Vogt for Excellence in Studio Art Award.

At SCF Venice, Patricia Kelly was named the Outstanding Student in Legal Research and Writing, and Lisa Brown was named the Outstanding Advanced Technical Certificate Student in Paralegal/Legal Assisting.

Other Outstanding Student Awards went to Mikhail Sherman, American history; Alexander Rosas, political science; Lindsey Mentzer, pre-service teacher; Madeline Ruch, biology; Yantong Chen and Kyle Ruff, chemistry; Joseph Reschenthaler and Teresa Bowers, anatomy and physiology I and II; Brian Cortes, physics; Naomi Stiwich, accounting; Alexis Holsapple, economics; Yantong Chen, mathematics; James Hill, philosophy; David Kambour, religion; Ana Simeunovic, developmental coursework; William Hugel, language and literature; and Megan Finsel, creative writing. She also won the Phantastic Phrog award, which goes to a student who made an outstanding contribution to the editing and publication and promotion of the literary/arts magazine, Elektraphrog.

Click here to view the SCF Bradenton photos on Facebook. Click here to view the SCF Venice photos on Facebook.




Page Edit