SCF Foundation Nominee Receives Community Spirit Award

(Bradenton, Fla., March 17, 2016) – State College of Florida, Manatee-Sarasota (SCF) Foundation’s nominee for the Community Spirit award, Freedom Village, was announced as the winner at the Spirit of Manatee Awards banquet on March 2 at the Bradenton Area Convention Center.

The Community Spirit award is presented to a foundation, service club, corporation or business that demonstrates a strong commitment to the community through financial support and leadership.

To give back to the community and memorialize former residents, Freedom Village residents created the Memorial Scholarship Program in 1997. Since its inception, many SCF students have received scholarships from the program through the SCF Foundation, which is proud to partner with Freedom Village to transform students’ lives. In the past five years, the program has awarded 450 scholarships to students attending 12 different universities, totaling more than $548,000 in funds. Led by Chairman Glenn A. Vergason, the Freedom Village community raises more than $100,000 annually through contributions and selling of items donated by residents.

In 2015, SCF Foundation nominees Beverly Beall and Kemp Riechmann won the Leadership Spirit award for their charitable investment in the community.

For more information about the Foundation or its scholarship programs, call 752-5390 or email Allison Nash at

Page Edit