SCF’s Annual Math ACES Competition Winners Honored this Month

(Bradenton, Fla., May 5, 2016) — State College of Florida, Manatee-Sarasota (SCF) hosts an annual Math ACES competition, awarding top scorers from each participating school $150 and a certificate.

To compete, students from public and private high schools take a math exam created by the SCF math department faculty. The exams are sponsored by the American Society of Civil Engineers, the American Public Works Association Sun Coast Branch, Sunshine Realty Tampa, the State College of Florida Foundation, the Education Foundation of Sarasota County, and the Sarasota Council of Teachers of Mathematics.

Winners receive their awards at their school’s senior awards assembly near the end of the school year.

This year’s winner, listed by school, are:

Bradenton Christian

Zachary Hedman

Braden River High

Hannah Mennes

Lakewood Ranch High

Winton Liu

Manatee High

Cara Peters

North Port High

Sean Kircher

Out-of-Door Academy

Evan Murphy

Palmetto High

Joshua Evangelista


Axel Martin

Riverview High

Taylor Rader

Saint Stephens Episcopal

Zackary Gromko

Sarasota Military Academy

Steven Lester

SCF Collegiate School

Daniel Jones

Venice High

Kyle O’Connor

Page Edit