SCF Theatre Department Presents 50th Annual Awards

(Bradenton, Fla., May 17, 2016) — The State College of Florida, Manatee-Sarasota (SCF) chapter of Delta Psi Omega, the national theatre honorary fraternity for community colleges, held its 50th annual Awards Banquet on stage at SCF’s David S. and Anne V. Howard Studio Theatre.

The Bernie Awards, named in honor of former theatre professor M. Bernice Pepke, are given to the best theatre students at the end of the academic year. Connee Marie Therieau received the Director’s Award, the theatre program’s highest honor.

Other winners are:

Chris McCoy

Outstanding Lead Actor

Marina Vorobyov

Outstanding Lead Actress

Marlee Abbott

Outstanding Supporting Actress

Alexandra Ladyzhensky

Nader Ajib

Outstanding Supporting Actress

Outstanding Supporting Actor

Alec Dvornik

Outstanding Technical Achievement

Nicole Freij

Outstanding Technical Achievement

Nick Catanzaro

Most Promising Newcomer

Roxanne Smith, Ajib, Catanzaro, Dvornik and Therieau were inducted into Delta Psi Omega.

Craig Smith, theatre program manager, and James Thaggard, box office manager, co-hosted the Bernie Awards banquet. Other presenters includedTimothy Bourn, instructional assistant, and Amanda Schlachter, theatre adjunct, as well as retired theatre program managersJohn W. James and Kenneth Erickson.   

Also attending the ceremony were Dr. Mike Mears, vice president of strategic initiatives; Ted Camp, former chair of arts and humanities; Bobbi Camp, former box office manager; and Joyce James. Bill Murphy congratulated the students and staff on an outstanding 50th season on behalf of his wife, SCF president Dr. Carol F. Probstfeld.

Current and former theatre students will gather for a reunion from 2 to 6 p.m. May 29 on the stage of SCF’s Neel Performing Arts Center.

For information, contact Thaggard at

:         (Front L-R)  Alec Dvornik, Connee Marie Therieau, Marina Vorobyov, Alexandra Ladyzhensky                    (Back L-R)  Nader Ajib, Nick Catanzaro, Marlee Abbott, Chris McCoy

(Front L-R)  Alec Dvornik, Connee Marie Therieau, Marina Vorobyov, Alexandra Ladyzhens

 (Back L-R)  Nader Ajib, Nick Catanzaro, Marlee Abbott, Chris McCoy

Page Edit