Students Inducted into Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society at SCF Venice

(Venice, Fla., Dec. 20, 2016) —  State College of Florida, Manatee-Sarasota (SCF) congratulates 14 students who have been inducted into the SCF Venice Alpha Mu Upsilon chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, the International Honor Society of two-year colleges. Eligible students must have completed 12 hours of coursework toward an associate’s degree and have a grade point average of at least 3.5.

The following students were inducted: Alexandra Backus, Beatriz Paniego Béjar, Elizabeth Capell, Lillian Costa, Clarissa Cumbo, Samantha DeLaho, Heather Grindstaff, Nancy Krajcik, Nicole Lenard, Mary Lopez, James Mathern, Maria Quezada, Beth Taylor and Melanie Turner.

During the induction, five Alpha Mu Upsilon officers were named: Anne Miller, vice president of scholarship; Nicole Lenard, vice president of communications/historian; Melanie Turner, vice president of  public relations/ICC representative; Clarissa Cumbo, vice president of service; and Samantha DeLaho, vice president of finance.

Phi Theta Kappa’s mission is to recognize and encourage academic achievement and to provide opportunities for individual growth and development through participation in honors, leadership, service and fellowship programming.

For information on the honor society, visit For more information about the Alpha Mu Upsilon chapter contact Michael Rogers at

 PTK Induction


Page Edit