SCF Model UN Team Brings Home Awards from United Nations Conference

(Bradenton, Fla., Apri1 12, 2016) – The State College of Florida, Manatee-Sarasota, (SCF) Model UN team brought home several awards from the Southern Regional Model United Nations Conference this month in Charlotte, N.C.

 The team represented the United Kingdom at the conference, which included 340 students from colleges and universities throughout the south. The Model UN teams represented 62 countries.

 The SCF team won an award for best position paper, given to the top 10 percent of countries with the highest team-wide average scores on their position papers. SCF finished with the highest average position paper score at the conference for the second consecutive year. The team also received an honorable delegation team award for its work at the conference.

 Three students won individual awards. Tori Stalnaker, a returning student delegate, won an Individual Outstanding Delegate award for her work on the Security Council. New student delegates ArDelia MacPhail and Marissa Ware, from SCFCS, won individual Most Diplomatic awards for their work with the Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific, and the North Atlantic Treaty Organization, respectively.

 Salome Arenas and Nicole Hittel, from SCFCS, received perfect scores for their position paper for the General Assembly Plenary. Zoran Popovic, from SCF Venice, and Lee Weis, from SCFCS, received a perfect score for their position paper for the General Assembly Fourth Committee. Elizabeth Cahill, SCFCS, and Zii Miller, SCF Lakewood Ranch, received a 98 out of 100 for their position paper for the United Nations Development Programme committee. 

For more information about Model UN or the conference contact Daniel Fuerstman, Model UN advisor, at 941-363-7272 or


 Back row (L to R): Lee Weis - Tori Stalnaker - Danny Fuerstman (instructor) - Zoran Popovic Front row (L to R): Marissa Ware - Elizabeth Cahill - Zii Miller - Nicole Hittel - ArDelia Macphail 

Back row (L to R): Lee Weis, Tori Stalnaker, Danny Fuerstman (instructor), Zoran Popovic

Front row (L to R): Marissa Ware, Elizabeth Cahill, Zii Miller, Nicole Hittel, ArDelia Macphail


Page Edit