Four SCF, Manatee-Sarasota Professors Receive National Awards

(Bradenton, Fla., Feb. 20, 2018) — State College of Florida, Manatee-Sarasota (SCF) congratulates four SCF professors who have received leadership excellence awards from the National Institute for Staff and Organizational Development (NISOD).  

Daniel Fuerstman, associate professor social and behavioral science, Jaquelyn McNeil, dean of students, Andrew Swanson, professor, natural science and Matthew Thomas, associate professor natural science, all received the NISOD Excellence Awards. NISOD is an organization committed to promoting excellence in teaching, learning and leadership. The organization began its excellence award program in 1978 to recognize exemplary faculty, staff and administrators at community colleges across the country.

SCF employees nominate faculty members based on their work during the year. The previous year’s NISOD winners from SCF evaluate their applications and choose the winners. NISOD Excellence Award winners have attended continuing education courses on cutting-edge topics in higher education. They also have presented information to their peers. The recipients will travel to Austin, Texas to receive their awards May 26-29.

For more information on SCF, visit

Andrew Swanson, Jaquelyn McNeil, Matthew Thomas, Daniel  Fuerstman

From left: Andrew Swanson, Jaquelyn McNeil, Matthew Thomas and Daniel  Fuerstman

Page Edit