SCFCS Graduates Honored as Scholars and for Community Service

(Bradenton, Fla., May 4, 2018) — State College of Florida Collegiate School (SCFCS) graduated 84 students Friday, May 4, at State College of Florida, Manatee-Sarasota’s (SCF) Neel Performing Arts Center. This marked the fifth year the school has held commencement ceremonies, in which students receive their high school diplomas in the morning and their Associate in Arts degrees from SCF in the evening.

More than half of the graduates have made the dean’s list or the president’s list at SCF at least once. Ten students were nominated for the Bradenton Herald’s Golden Herald Awards. The SCFCS graduates have accumulated more than 11,000 hours of combined community service. Students have earned more than $1.5 million in scholarships.

Two Collegiate School students, Christina Bobrek and John Thompson, were named to the 2018 All-Florida Academic Team. The Collegiate School Appreciation Award winner is Laura Whalen. The award is given to a graduate who has been a role model at the Collegiate School.  The Achievement Award winner is Alex Gibson. The award is given to graduates who have demonstrated consistent growth and professionalism inside and outside the classroom.

The Collegiate School Outstanding Graduate Award winner is Ronan Bustamante. He was recognized for his superior leadership, academic achievement and community service. He was the vice president of communications for the Student Leadership Team and volunteered at more than 70 events. Bustamante dedicated more than 100 hours to help a middle school student who was struggling with school work, even while taking his own rigorous course schedule. He graduates with a 4.0 from the State College of Florida, Manatee-Sarasota and will transfer to the University of Florida where he will study biology. He plans to go to medical school and wants to eventually go into psychiatry for children.

SCFCS graduates have been accepted into dozens of colleges, including Appalachian State University, Bard College, Baylor University, Eckerd College, Emory University, Florida Atlantic University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Florida Polytechnic University, Florida Southern College, Florida State University, Fordham University, Georgia Institute of Technology, Louisiana State University, Loyola University New Orleans, Lynn University, Mercer University, Mercy College, New College of Florida, Ohio State University, Palm Beach Atlantic University, Pennsylvania State University, Purdue University, Ringling College of Art and Design, Saint Louis University, Savannah College of Art and Design, Southeastern University, State College of Florida, Manatee-Sarasota, Stetson University, Syracuse University, University of Alabama, University of Central Florida, University of Florida, University of Georgia, University of Miami, University of North Florida, University of Rochester, University of South Florida Sarasota- Manatee, University of South Florida Tampa, University of Tampa, University of Wisconsin and Western Carolina University.

For more information, call SCFCS advisor Matt Bowman at 941-752-5469 or email

Dr. Carol F. Probstfeld SCF president, presents the Outstanding Graduate Award to Ronan Bustamante.

Dr. Carol F. Probstfeld, SCF president, presents the Outstanding Graduate Award to Ronan Bustamante. 


Page Edit