Honors Students Recognized

(Bradenton, Fla., April 25, 2008) - Members of the Manatee Community College (MCC) Spring 2008 graduating class and other students who excelled scholastically or through service to their college and community were recognized in Honors Convocation ceremonies held Friday, April 25, at MCC Bradenton and MCC Venice. Collegewide, award-winners received $46,795 in scholarships or cash awards.

At MCC Bradenton, recipients of Beverly Beall and R. Kemp Riechmann Foundation scholarships, ranging from $2,000 to $3,000 and renewable for a second year, were Raymond Brown, Irene Chandler, Matthew Eshelman, Daniel Mbom, Arbin Rai and Martha Torres. Rai, a member of MCC's Mathematics Olympic Team, also won a $300 Department of Mathematics Memorial Award.

At MCC Venice, students who each received a $2,500 or a $3,000 Foundation scholarship included Heather Whitby, Viktoriya Boychuk, Alina Solomiuchuk, Milica Radmonovic, Jennifer Micheel and Andrew Stubbs.

Sixteen students received Raymond D. and Janet L. Cheydleur Educational Endowment Scholarship awards that were presented for the first time this year. Raymond Cheydleur, deceased, was one of eight original MCC faculty members. He left just over $1.1 million for an endowed scholarship fund. Students receiving awards of $1,500 each included Bradenton residents Victoria Barendse, Erica Blosser, Charles Carter, Jordan Chaplinski, Heather Generous, Matthew Kiernan and Stella Stranahan; Parrish residents Victor Gonzalez and twin sisters Caroline and Sarah Knowles; and Sarasota residents Kyle Buckwalter, Thea Haefner, Travis Hillaker, Jessica Kenney, Whitney Reshard and Stella Shedrinsky. The awards were presented by Professor Priscilla Mabie  "Pam" Stewart, MCC's longest-tenured professor.

MCC Bradenton students who won MCC Image awards in recognition of their ability to overcome barriers to their success in college were Emma Mendoza and Norrell Puckerin. Mendoza also won a $400 Wayne Gulbrandsen Academic Scholarship for Single Parents. Image Award winners at MCC Venice were Cody Bowman, Kathleen Emmons and Heather Gowan.

MCC Bradenton graduates Michael Glidden and Sean Abene were named to the 2008 Phi Theta Kappa All-Florida Academic Team. Glidden is graduating with an associate in arts degree. A member of MCC's Brain Bowl and Mathematics Olympic teams, he also was named Outstanding Student in Organic Chemistry and earned an Outstanding Achievement in English award. Abene earned an associate in arts degree and was the student speaker at the 2007 Winter Commencement ceremony.  Currently, he is serving in the Middle East with the Air Force Reserves. Members of the All-Florida Academic Team from MCC Venice were Milica Radmonovic and Olga Lykhvar. Both earned the associate in arts degree.

Other MCC Bradenton Awards

Winners of $400 Wayne Gulbrandsen Academic Scholarship for Single Parents awards were Mendoza, Carla Butler, Jeremy Chapman, Melissa Frields, Donna Hunter, Whitney Reshard and Marilyn Rolston.

Michael Caudill received a $300 award for the Annual Art Exhibition Best in Show. He also won a $175 award for the first-place exhibition award in the photography category. Other art exhibition winners included Kathy Cobb and James Haisten. Cobb received $225 as the winner of the MCC President's Award and Haisten received $225 as the winner of the Juror's Choice Award.

Other MCC Venice Awards

Erica Baghrzadeh and Mary Poliseo each won a $400 Wayne Gulbrandsen Academic Scholarship for Single Parents award.

The Rotary Club of North Port presented the club's $500 Ed Kalb Memorial Scholarship to Brayan Felipe.

Jill Wright won a $300 Peter and Mary Lou Vogt award for excellence in studio art that also entitles her to exhibit her work in the MCC Venice Fine Art Gallery.


Page Edit