“They Promised Her The Moon” Tells the story of Pilot and Aviator Jerrie Cobb

Bradenton, Fla. Apr. 10, 2024

“They Promised Her The Moon” Tells the story of Pilot and Aviator Jerrie Cobb

(Bradenton, Fla., April 10, 2024) — State College of Florida, Manatee-Sarasota (SCF) Theatre will present Laurel Ollstein’s “They Promised Her The Moon” at 8 p.m. April 12, 13, 19 and 20, with 2 p.m. matinees April 14 and 21. The show will be in the Howard Studio Theatre, 5840 26th St. W., Building 11 West, Bradenton.

The first American woman to test for space flight, Jerrie Cobb steps into an isolation tank for a record-breaking nine hours as her memories unfold before her, from learning to fly a plane as a child in Oklahoma to testifying in Congressional hearings about the under-the-radar, all-female Mercury 13 space program. The production is a compelling drama about the challenges of sisterhood and fighting for the greater good, based on a true story.

SCF Theatre’s production of “They Promised Her the Moon,” under the direction of Amanda Schlachter, features cast members: Ruby Daines, Anuj Naidu, Erika Campbell, Kayliana Cristello, Brice Carlton, Abby Fayette, Jo Klens, Willow Guarino, Cass Scott, Steph Lynd, Aaron Garcia De Leon, Jim Ashburn, Ethan Fuhrmeister, and Martin Nicholas.

Crew and creative credits belong to SCF Theatre: Craig Smith, Timothy Bourn, Erika Campbell, Kennedy Lollar, Alexandria Maulfair, Ethan Fuhrmeister, Aaron Garcia De Leon, Elizabeth Sorba, Kenji Trujillo, Jean Felicita, Teresa Briefeneder, and Nina DeLorenzo Evan Laney. Film (DIG 2000 Media Interpretation and Adaptation) faculty and students are Chris Bellanca, Matt Boldin, Faith Brown, Irian Colon, Alan Curtis, Sofia Fenix, Georgia Jimenez, Isalia Luna, Liam Tulloch, and Foxx Watson.

Purchase tickets for $15 at SCF.edu/Neel or by calling the box office at 941-752-5252. For more information, email BoxOffice@SCF.edu.