Four SCF Employees Receive National Leadership Excellence Awards

Bradenton, Fla. Mar. 21, 2023

(Bradenton, Fla., March 21, 2023) — State College of Florida, Manatee-Sarasota (SCF) congratulates four faculty and staff members who have received leadership excellence awards from the National Institute for Staff and Organizational Development (NISOD). Katherine DeBerry, coordinator, natural science lab; Dr. Marie Hendry, associate professor, Language and Literature Department; Marcus Lindemann, marine science instructor, Natural Science Department; and Betty Lorenzo-Albrecht, academic department secretary, Business and Technology Department, received NISOD Excellence Awards.

NISOD is an organization committed to promoting excellence in teaching, learning and leadership. The organization began its excellence award program in 1978 to recognize exemplary faculty, staff and administrators at community colleges across the country. Each 2023 recipient is eligible to attend the NISOD virtual conference May 27-30.

“The honorees received this award by earning the respect of their colleagues, who bestowed this recognition for the talents, teaching and service they display,” said Dr. Todd G. Fritch, executive vice president and provost for SCF.

SCF employees nominate their peers based on their work during the year. The previous year’s NISOD winners evaluate the applications and choose the winners. NISOD Excellence Award winners have shown a proven commitment to professional development and have improved the college through their endeavors.

SCF is proud to employ outstanding faculty and staff who create a college community where students receive an excellent education while benefiting from the full college experience. For information about employment opportunities at SCF, visit