SCF Recognizes Outstanding Students at Honors Convocation 2024

Bradenton, Fla. May. 15, 2024

(Bradenton, Fla., May 16, 2024)State College of Florida, Manatee-Sarasota (SCF) recognized SCF Venice and SCF Bradenton Spring 2024 graduates for their exceptional academic initiative and drive and dedicated service and impact to the College at Honors Convocation 2024 ceremonies at the two campuses on Friday, April 26. The events featured poetry, award, and scholarship presentations to more than 62 graduates.

SCF President Dr. Carol F. Probstfeld welcomed the students, and Associate Provost for Academic and Faculty Affairs Dr. Patricia Rand closed the ceremonies with a charge to honorees.

Dr. Probstfeld presented the SCF Image Award to SCF Venice graduate and military Veteran Angell Jennings and SCF Bradenton graduate and music ambassador Kira Marino. The recipients stood out in demonstrating perseverance in overcoming life’s obstacles, achieving academic success, and representing the College’s values.

Jennings went above and beyond volunteering for many clubs, committees, and events and helped her fellow students connect to vital community resources. She graduated this spring with an associate in science degree focused on accounting and budget operations management. Marino committed to performing well academically and in her chamber choir and other musical roles in the past several years. She graduated this spring with a 3.80 grade point average and an associate in arts degree.

Wayne Gulbrandsen Academic Scholarship for Single Parents were awarded to: Tiffany Kovalsky, Amber Ingram, Jennifer Smith, Nellie Woodson, Monica Gilley, Carletta Phillips, Michelle Colby, Terry Kraus, Victoria Williams, and Ashley Gongo.

Writing, literature, and language awards were presented to: Felix Altman, Outstanding Student in Creative Writing; Harper McLaren, Outstanding Essay in Literature; Natalie Hill, Darlene Wedler-Johnson Award for Outstanding Student in English; Elena Mata, Outstanding Student in Creative Writing: Poetry; Sasha Cushing, Outstanding Student in Creative Writing: Fiction; Cody Yoho, Outstanding Student in Spanish I; Ruby Daines, Outstanding Student in Spanish II; Kyle Taylor, Outstanding Student in Speech; Anna Chioffe, Outstanding Student in Speech; Ashley Holdsworth, Most Significant Advancement in Presentation Skills; Lydia Cook, Outstanding Performance in Literary Analysis – ENC 1102; Jessica Armstrong, Outstanding Achievement in Dystopian Literary Criticism – LIT 2000; Eric Escoto, Outstanding Student in Literature: Critical Project; and Melissa Pfoertner Katherine Sherin-Zauner, Excellence in Speech Award; Libby Kaule, Outstanding American Sign Language Student; Sailorlynn Morrison, Outstanding American Sign Language Student; Olivia Rogers, Outstanding American Sign Language Student; and Thomas Fellowes, Outstanding American Sign Language Student.

Math, science, and economic awards went to: Minh Ho, Outstanding Student in Mathematics; Sidney Martin, Outstanding Student in General Chemistry; Michael Miller, Outstanding Student in Biology; Andrea Arica, Outstanding Student in Anatomy and Physiology II; Karley Wells, Outstanding Student in Anatomy and Physiology I; Norman Smith, Outstanding Student in Physics; Brandon Smith, Outstanding Student in Economics; Kelsey Sonnen, Outstanding Student in Biology; Brenda Kulaga, Outstanding Graduate in Biotechnology; Jazmyne Lott, Outstanding Student in General Chemistry; Maxmillion Schmitt, Outstanding Student in Organic Chemistry; Christopher Camacho, Outstanding Student in Physics; Julian La Rosa, Mathematics Department Memorial Award; Ana Virgala, Mathematics Department Initium Award; Khoa Tran,  Mathematics Department Initium Award; and Matthew Wagner, Outstanding Student in Economics.

Paralegal/legal assistant program awards and certificates were given to: Whitney Reckart, Outstanding Paralegal/Legal Assisting A.S. Student; Courtney Youngquist, Outstanding Advanced Technical Certificate; Christopher Brown, Outstanding Advanced Technical Certificate; Bella Berger, Outstanding Advanced Technical Certificate; Sheena Kimbrell, Professor’s Award for Outstanding Legal Research and Writing; and Rosa De La Cruz Zuniga, Outstanding Paralegal/Legal Assisting A.S. Student.

Other awards were presented to: Jordan Aguilar, Outstanding Student in Philosophy; Alina Oberglock, Outstanding Student in Political Science; Alici Ouellette, Outstanding Student in American History; Allyson Rowe, Outstanding Student in Business; Vlada Tarasova, Outstanding Student in Studio Arts; Delia Sophia Rivera, Graphic Design Academic Excellence Award; Ying Lui, Outstanding Student in Programming; Joe Golembeski, Outstanding Student in History; Christina Beaver, Outstanding Returning Music Student; and Dale Urban, Outstanding First Year Music Student.

Also honored were: Brain Bowl Team Members – Ursula Kushner, Addison Wiggins, Tracy Truong, and Cole Moran, and 12th Judicial Circuit High School Mock Trial Competition-SCFCS Team Members – Tracy Truong, Amelia Gumerova, Ava Griner, Davan Nguyen, and Christian Pangallo.

SCF congratulates all honorees on their remarkable accomplishments.

For more information, visit